This home was built in 1921 by John G. Porter, a well known Fresno builder, as part of the Porter Tract. John Porter and his wife, Emma, were the home’s first residents. The Porter tract was started circa 1914-1915. The area extends from Weldon to Yale and Maroa to College.
The home is currently owned by Dr. Gene Towery, a local dentist, and his wife, Nancy. Since their purchase of the home in 1975, they have embarked on several renovations but have kept them as close to the home’s traditional beginning as possible. Dr. Towery is a true craftsman. Many of the renovations have been done by him or with the Towery’s close supervision. As a result the home remains true to its original design and construction.
The style of this home is a Tudor Revival/Craftsman blend. It has 4700 square feet. Construction is wood frame with stucco finish on a brick foundation and includes a multiple gabled roof. Double hung windows cased by wood mouldings are original. The Tudor Revival style front door is flanked by original leaded glass sidelights. The front porch is of Craftsman characteristic and extends across the front of the house. The two street lamps in the front yard were originally located on Van Ness Avenue in downtown Fresno. They were purchased by the Towerys and installed by Dr. Towery.
The home has extensive millwork throughout, unique crown moulding and notably a coved ceiling and bowed front window in the dining room. There are 15 rooms, including 4 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, kitchen/den, living room, library, and partially finished 3rd floor. The swimming pool was added in 1951. In 1970, the kitchen and maid’s quarters were remodeled. Two walls were removed changing the area into a kitchen/family room/utility area configuration. A small wine cellar has been added in the basement and the third floor is being opened up to house a large recreation/man-cave area.